Skip to content

Presenting my new slim cruiser

April 29, 2013

After lots of exploration, drawing and erasing, I am happy to present a new design! Hand drawn by myself – except for a guiding box grid I 3d modelled and printed in A3 format. This is a 20 meter by 4.15 meter (65′ by 13’7″) full displacement yacht.

My new 65 foot slim cruiser - two perspective drawings of the major features

My new 65 foot slim cruiser – two perspective drawings of the major features

Side view of the new 65foot slim cruiser - freehand on measured length.

Side view of the new 65foot slim cruiser – freehand on measured length.

A completely freehand side view - slightly more organic but length not to scale.

Much more quick and rough sketch – slightly more organic but length not to scale.

The idea is to make a more environment friendly cruiser – adding length to increase hull speed while keeping the narrow beam of a 40ft yacht. The yacht emphasizes enclosed living spaces for the scandinavian climate and weather. Instead of the typical cockpit I envision seating like in a convertible – behind the helmsman in open air. Canopy – or optional hard top!

The interior layout, which I will reveal soon, makes the most of this miniaturized “raised pilothouse” design to provide spacious accomodation for four people – and it might include one smaller single crew cabin.

I figure this should be a diesel elctric hybrid boat, with twin electric pod drives. I have freed up space for solar panels on the top deck by making a nice compact RIB garage in the rounded stern. Put as much batteries and machinery as low as possible, install stabilizers, and I hope the boat will be stable, safe and comfortable despite the narrow beam.

Since I am obviously concerned with feasibility and practicality of the design, I am still thinking of ways to make it easy to do the daily stuff like tying on fenders and docking without side decks. And I have a fancy but hopefully mechanically simple solution for bathing platform, RIB garage and paserelle!

And just to be clear – this design is not “M/V Julie” – the superyacht design project that triggered my yacht interest and which is the underlying theme of this blog. This is just another step towards my goal:)

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

